BSL National Plan Consultation 2017

The BSL National Plan Consultation period has begun. It will last until Wednesday 31st May.

To respond online, please use the Scottish Government’s Consultation Hub, Citizen Space https://consult.scotland.gov.uk/equality-unit/bsl-national-plan

Respond in BSL. If you want to respond in BSL you can use the following options:

Youtube or Vimeo Upload your videos and paste the website link into the Citizen Space consultation or into an email.

Facebook Post your videos on this public Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/bslnationalplan

Other people will see your responses

Email Send an email with links to videos of your responses to BSLConsult@gov.scot

Post Send your responses in English or in BSL on a DVD or USB to:Hilary Third, The Equality Unit, Area 3H-North, Victoria Quay, Edinburgh, EH6 6QQ

There will be meetings around Scotland for deaf and deafblind BSL users.

Here are some of the dates and venues, there will be more dates added.


MARCH


Glasgow Asian Deaf Club, Pollokshields Community Centre, 15 Kenmure St. Sat 18 March, 2pm

Forth Valley Sensory Centre Wed 22 March, 12.30pm

Lanarkshire Deaf Club Sat 25 March, 1pm

Deaf Connections Thurs 30 March,11am

There is also a meeting on Wednesday 29th March for deafblind people in the Radisson Blu, Glasgow, 10-3pm, where deafblind people can be filmed telling your story about being deafblind. It will be possible to use time in the afternoon to fill in the Consultation Questionnaire with support from Ken Hallsworth and a Guide/Communicator or an Interpreter.


APRIL


Mothers & Toddlers (at St Andrew’s Parish Church), Motherwell Fri, 21 April at 12pm

Kirkcaldy Deaf Bowling Club (at Gallatown Bowling Club, Bandon Avenue, Kirkcaldy) Fri, 21 April at 7pm

Salmon Inn, Galashiels (Scottish Borders) Mon, 24 April at 6pm

St Vincent’s Centre for the Deaf, Glasgow Tues, 25 April at 7pm

Lanarkshire Deaf Club (at the Daisy Park Community Centre, Motherwell ML1 1EA) Wed, 26 April at 7pm

Coatbridge Deaf Club Friday, 28 April at 6.30pm

St Mary’s Parish, Calton (Glasgow G40 2DQ) Sunday 30th April at 6.45pm


MAY


Edinburgh BSL Coffee Meet Up, Waverley Station, Edinburgh Fri, 5 May at 7pm

Inverness & Moray (Elgin) Deaf Clubs, Spectrum Centre Inverness Sat, 6 May at 1.30pm

Deaf History Scotland, Greenock Sat, 6 May at 2pm

Fife Deaf Pub, Dunfermline Sat, 13 May at 7pm

Edinburgh Deaf Club Sat, 13 May at 8.30pm

Deafblind and Usher Renfield St Stephens Centre (260 Bath Street, G2 4JP) Friday 19 May 10.30am – 2.30pm

Greenock Deaf Pub (The James Watt) Fri, 19 May at 7pm

Aberdeen Deaf Club Sat, 20 May at 7pm


It is important that as many deafblind people respond to the Consultation so that the Plan can hopefully benefit deafblind BSL users.

Let me know if you would like to attend, and if you require communication support. We can then find out what support is available for that meeting and let you know.

Ken Hallsworth, 01417775829, or Email: dsp@deafblindscotland.org.uk

Consultation Poster March V4
Consultation Poster April V4
Consultation Poster May Part A
Consultation Poster May Part B